Driving an Unregistered or Uninsured Vehicle Attorney Union County NJ
Serving Clients across Linden, Elizabeth, Scotch Plains, Westfield, Plainfield, and Union County
Driving an unregistered or uninsured vehicle are serious motor vehicle offenses, carrying consequences that are worse than a simple speeding ticket. If you or someone you know received a ticket for either of the above, you should seek legal advice.
In this article, we will review the potential fines, penalties and consequences surrounding the failure to register a vehicle in New Jersey. At the Law Offices of Edward Cooper, we have years of experience handling registration-related cases and municipal court matters across Union County in towns like Linden, Elizabeth, Scotch Plains, Westfield, and Plainfield.
It is important that you enlist the counsel of an experienced municipal court and criminal attorney to protect your rights. Give us a call today at 908-481-4625 or fill out a contact form to schedule a consultation at our Linden office.
Failure to Register a Vehicle N.J.S.A. 39:3-4
Under motor vehicle code N.J.S.A. 39:3-4, no one driving in this state is permitted to be on a public roadway with a vehicle that has not been registered. You cannot drive the car or even park the car in front of your house if it is on a public roadway.
Registration is obtained at the department of a motor vehicle in the form of a registration card. This card should be kept and maintained in the car and be current at all times. Every motor vehicle in New Jersey must be registered on a yearly basis. Usually, the state mails the vehicle owner a renewal notice which can be done online or in person. If you do not register the vehicle and you drive or park on a public roadway, there can be costly penalties ahead.
Penalties for Failure to Register a Vehicle in NJ
First and foremost, if your car is not registered, the police will have no choice but to impound your car. The police tow the car to the impound lot where it will sit until you are able to obtain a registration and pick up the car. However, picking up the car is not that simple. You must pay the tow/lot company the impound fee. In most cases, you can expect to pay hundreds of dollars for the initial impound as well as a daily fee for every day the car sits at the impound lot. Beyond that, if you are found guilty of failing to register your car, you will likely be assessed a fine of up to $100 and may be subject to other penalties.
Failure to Insure a Vehicle N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2
In addition to requiring that a car be registered, New Jersey demands that the car be insured. The insurance protects you and others in the event of an accident. Driving without insurance in New Jersey, under N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2, will financially impact your life, considering that you will be fined a minimum of $300 and as much as $1000 for a first offense. In addition, failing to obtain and maintain auto-insurance will result in a loss of your license for one year from the date of the conviction. You may be required to do community service as well. A subsequent offense will cost you up to $5000, imprisonment for up to 14 days, community service up to 30 days, and a two-year loss of license.
Impact of Unregistered/Uninsured Vehicle Penalties on Life
Since most New Jersey residents who do not live near public transportation have to drive to work, between the fines and the loss of license, an insured vehicle ticket has a heavy financial impact. For those of us without public transportation, losing a license usually may means you will lose your job. Losing your job means you likely cannot pay your rent or mortgage which means that it is even less likely that you will be able to pay your fines. In the event that you cannot pay your fines, the court could further suspend your license. As you can see, this becomes a vicious cycle. The penalties for one lapse of insurance can have lasting effects.
Speak With Experienced Union County Traffic Violations Attorney Today
If you received a citation for driving in an unregistered or uninsured vehicle or even for parking it in a public area in Union County NJ, contact the Attorney Cooper’s Linden offices anytime at 908-481-4625 for a free consultation. Our traffic attorneys have extensive experience and successfully helped clients in Linden, Elizabeth, Scotch Plains, Westfield, Plainfield, and across Union County.