What Is the Difference Between a Moving and Non-Moving Violation in NJ?
Did you know that New Jersey has the 11th highest number of licensed drivers when compared with other states?
With more than 6.3 million drivers on the road, New Jersey driving laws are in place to maintain control of the highways and byways of the Garden State and keep everyone on the road safe and sound. It is understood that all of us make great efforts to follow the traffic laws, but sometimes mistakes occur, and a citation is given. There are 2 kinds of driving violations: non-moving and moving.
What are Non-Moving Violations?
They are violations that occur when the car is not in motion. These infractions typically carry much smaller fines and do not put points on your license. Failure to have insurance on your vehicle or affixing an approval sticker without inspection have fines of $1,000 and $1,500, respectively. Most non-moving violations have to do with parking illegally (on a crosswalk, in a loading zone, beside an expired meter), improper vehicle maintenance such as burned-out head/brake lights, also in this category are missing the front or back license plates and making illegal modifications to your car such as window tint that is darker than the regulations state.
Do These Tickets Really Matter?
One parking ticket is obviously not an issue, as long as you pay it. But several tickets can harm your budget. At $54 each, those fees add up quickly. If you pay the ticket, you are admitting fault. A lawyer can present your side of the situation and perhaps get some tickets thrown out. If you don’t pay the fines or show up on your court date, a bench warrant can be made, and you can be arrested. Never let legal issues go unresolved because they only worsen with time; fees accrue interest and become more difficult to pay. A severe infraction is to drive without insurance. Fines of up to $5,000 (and a surcharge of $250 per year for 3 years) and license suspension for a year up to 2 years. A second offense has a mandatory jail sentence of 14 days.
Can My License Be Suspended?
Until recently, the answer to that question was affirmative, but as of January 1, 2020, the state of NJ decided that suspending so many licenses for unpaid fines and other non-moving violations was counterproductive. Many citizens chose to drive despite the license suspension, and when they got pulled over for a different infraction, they incurred more tickets and fines that they were unable to pay. It was a vicious cycle that the legislators in the Garden State decided to put an end to, thus guaranteeing an increase in paid fines (people who work regularly have more income than those who do not for lack of transportation).
What are Moving Violations?
To put it concisely, moving violations are all those which occur when a vehicle is in motion. Running a stop sign, speeding, careless or reckless driving, and hit and run are just a few examples. Moving violations will put points on your license, raise your insurance rates between 10 and 25%, and cost you dearly in fines, court costs, and surcharges. If you accumulate 6 points on your license, you will have to pay a surcharge of $150 per year for three years, and any further points (up to 11) will add $25 for three years for each additional point. Your license will be suspended if your points reach 12 or more, which is an incredible inconvenience.
What Do I Do If I Have A Ticket (Or More)?
New Jersey offers a defensive driving course, and completion of the course will take 2 points off your license, provide you with a 5%-10% insurance discount (for 3 years), and make your driving skills even better. If you do not commit an infraction for 12 months, 3 points will be taken off.
Another way to handle infractions is by having an attorney to help you. You can contest your ticket. Perhaps the radar gun used to track your speed wasn’t properly synchronized, or a local shop’s security camera shows something altogether different than what you received a ticket for. A reduction in points or a dropping of some charges may be possible under certain conditions, such as receiving driving classes.
Contact an Experienced Traffic Ticket Attorney
No one wants to get a ticket. Everyone makes mistakes, and sometimes those mistakes have long-lasting effects. Edward S. Cooper is a professional, well-seasoned lawyer whose exceptional reputation and passion for helping his clients make him the obvious choice.
You do not want to go to court to face all of those tickets alone. Allow him to use his skill and know-how to give you the best possible result.
Please contact him by calling our Linden, NJ offices at (908) 481-4625 today for a confidential consultation regarding your traffic tickets for moving and non-moving violations and more.