How to Navigate the Suspension of Your Driver’s License in New Jersey
Seasoned Traffic Offense Attorneys providing Legal Advice to Drivers in Westfield, Elizabeth, Union, Linden, and the greater Union County area
We are all counting on each other to be safe drivers to get where we need to go without incident. Unfortunately, some motorists engage in dangerous and reckless acts, endangering themselves, other motorists, bicyclists, and pedestrians. When a reckless and dangerous act is perpetrated by a motorist, or a motorist engages in multiple smaller traffic offenses, their license may be suspended.
If you have had your license suspended, you know that it is a hassle that can upend your entire life and prevent you from fulfilling important responsibilities. To ensure that you retrieve your license as soon as possible after receiving notice of proposed suspension by the state of New Jersey, contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer to learn about your rights and next steps.
Offenses that Lead to Driver’s License Suspension
There are numerous traffic and other offenses that can lead to the suspension of a driver’s license in New Jersey:
Traffic-Related Offenses Leading to Driver’s License Suspension:
- Conviction for driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DWI/DUI)
- Failure to show documentation of vehicle registration and auto insurance
- Refusal to take a breathalyzer test (While refusal to take a breathalyzer test is not grounds for driver’s license suspension in all states, New Jersey is an ‘implied consent state, meaning that if you are driving in the state, you are implicitly submitting to take an Alcotest breath test in the case that authorities request one.)
- Repeated traffic offenses that lead to accumulation of 12 points on your driving record
- Abandonment of your vehicle in an unsafe place on the roadway
Non-Traffic-Related Offenses Leading to Driver’s License Suspension:
- Failure to pay court fees or other fines promptly
- Criminal conviction
- Failing to appear for a required court date
Driver’s License Suspension Specifically Related to Driving While Under the Influence of Drugs or Alcohol
One of the most common reasons for the suspension of driver’s licenses is a conviction for DWI. There are varying degrees of punishment for a DUI, depending on how many offenses you have had. Your first offense of driving while under the influence may lead to the suspension of your driver’s license until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. A driver’s license may be suspended for up to 2 years if you already have a DUI on your record. Subsequent offenses can lead to suspension of your license for as much as 8 years. It is important to remember that suspension of one’s driver’s license is only one of the penalties for a DUI conviction. DUIs can carry steep fines of several thousand dollars, community service requirements, and even jail time.
Restoring your Driver’s License
When suspension of your driver’s license comes from the accumulation of 12 points on your driving record, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will send you a notice of proposed suspension of your license. At this moment, it is important to seek the support of a skilled attorney who can help you navigate the process of contesting the suspension. To contest a driver’s license suspension, you request a New Jersey DMV hearing, at which point you and a hearing officer discuss your driving record and review the case against you.
One thing that may help your case in a DMV hearing and that may support you in general if you have accumulated points on your driving record is to enroll in a Defensive Driving Course that the New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission offers. A defensive driving course is fairly painless and rapid to complete; provides refreshers for your on-the-road experience so that you can keep yourself, your passengers, other motorists, bicyclists, and pedestrians safe; and results in up to two points being wiped off your driving record.
Regardless of the case against you and whether your license has been suspended for accumulation of points or another crime or traffic violation, you can restore your driver’s license by completing all required suspensions and penalties. Upon completion of these penalties, you can apply to have your driver’s license and its privileges restored, which, with a $100 fee, can lead to getting you back on the road.
To ensure that your rights are protected and you can swiftly and safely get back on the road after the suspension of your driver’s license in New Jersey. you must seek the support of a qualified attorney.
A Knowledgeable Traffic Offense Attorney on Your Side when Your License is in Jeopardy
If you have had your driver’s license revoked for any reason, getting in touch with a skilled criminal defense lawyer should be chief among your priorities.
At Law Offices of Edward S. Cooper, Esq, we successfully represent clients across Westfield, Elizabeth, Union, Linden, and the greater Union County area.